Certifications required for detectors

Each smoke detector must include the CE and EN 14604.

The CE marking is a mandatory for products marketed in the European Economic Area and indicates that the product complies with European Directives dealing with security issues, public health and wider consumer protection.

1. European certification EN 14604 Smoke Detector
2. French certification smoke detector NF 292
3. European certification detector carbon monoxide EN 50291

Standard EN 14604

The EN14604 standard since May 1, 2008 required on every smoke detector that means it is new. The requirements and criteria that guarantee the consumer EN 14604 is the name and address of the manufacturer, reference standard, date of manufacture and batch number, date of replacement recommended battery type recommended and instructions to the attention of the user. There is also information such as the duratione Battery life: 1 year minimum, the alarm signal is different from the "low battery" or no battery, the sensor is equipped with a test button to check the proper functioning

The NF 292

NF certification is not mandatory, but heavily advised to ensure that the manufacturer and the product is reliable. The organization responsible for issuing the NF is the AFAQ AFNOR Certification is based on a network of laboratories and technical organizations including the National Committee of equipment Fire & Safety (CNMIS) and the National Centre for Prevention and Protection (CNPP). This standard warranty to the consumer ease of use, efficiency of detection, non-vulnerability to environmental stress, the level of alarm to wake a sleeping person and warning of the end of battery life as well as full compliance with standards in France and in Europe more broadly.

NF standard requires that each smoke detector should have a diameter not exceeding 136 mm and a height of 60 mm, a weight not exceeding 220 g, mounting the DAAF must be on a mounting base provided which allows the attachment to the ceiling 2 by screws, the fixingthe detector must be impossible in the absence of battery in the device, DAAF must be powered by a 9V alkaline battery with a capacity greater than or equal to 500 mAh, the acoustic power of the smoke detector must not be less 85 dB at 3 m, the unit must be equipped with a flashing red light. The weakness of the battery should be indicated by a beep and a red light (1 pulse every 12 seconds)

EN 50291

The EN50291 standard for the detection of carbon monoxide and there since 15 February 2001. This standard guarantees the consumer that the alarm will not until 120 minutes at a concentration of 30 ppm, 60 to 90 minutes at a concentration of 50 ppm, 10 to 40 minutes at a concentration of 100 ppm for 3 minutes before concentration of 300 ppm. It also ensures that the carbon monoxide detector has a life, a lifetime warranty and a minimum of 5 years, an audible and visual alarm signals the end of autonomy of the detector, the detector can operate between -10 ° C and 40 ° C, the loudness of carbon monoxide detector is at least 85 dB at 3 meters, the audible and visual alarms are built into the unit. EN 50291 therefore guarantees safetyoptimal against this odorless and colorless gas.